Dark Cherries and Cocoa Sourdough Rye Bread

For sourdough starter I combined:

130 g  mature whole wheat sourdough culture (taken from the refrigerator)

173 g water

171 g whole wheat flour

It was fermented at room temperature from 8PM to 10 AM.

1st fermentation:

Then, in a large mixing bowl I mixed:

370 g sourdough starter

800 g water

881 g  stone ground 100% rye flour

and I left it in the kitchen from 11AM to 4PM.

Second fermentation:

Then I added:

213 g water

28 g salt

41 g cocoa powder

340 dried unsweetened dark cherries

327 g stone ground 100% rye flour.

I combined the ingredients and left the dough in the bowl for 45 minutes.

Then I put the dough into pans and I let it rise for 1 hour. In the meantime I preheated the oven to 500F. I baked the loaves for 20 minutes. Than I reduced the temperature to 450F and I baked them for another 20 minutes. I removed the smaller loaf from the oven; I reduced the temperature to 400F  and I left the heart shaped loaf for another 10 minutes in the oven (without its pan).

Submitted to Yeastspotting andBYOB 125 x 125

2 thoughts on “Dark Cherries and Cocoa Sourdough Rye Bread

Leave a comment