Sourdough Crackers with Chia Seeds and Coconut Oil

We don’t eat crackers very often.  In a last 4 years we bought only a box of crackers and I also baked a batch of grainy crackers. I liked them a lot, but to my husband they were too hard. So when a few days ago he said he would like to eat some crackers I decide to try again .

400 g whole wheat sourdough starter, 100% hydration, fully fermented

200 g whole wheat pastry flour

60g extra virgin coconut oil, liquid

4 g salt salt

50 g chia seeds

Mix the starter and flour and knead the dough. Combine the salt and chia seeds with the oil. Add to the dough and knead again. Set aside for 15 minutes.

Divide the dough into 2 pieces. Line a pizza peel with parchment paper and roll each piece of  dough out into a very thin shit. Preheat your oven to 400F with a baking stone or with baking sheet situated at  the bottom level of the oven .

When the oven is ready, scribe the dividing lines of the crackers, put the first batch of crackers in the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes. Repeat the procedure with the second batch.

Submitted to Yeastspotting and BYOB 125 x 125

3 thoughts on “Sourdough Crackers with Chia Seeds and Coconut Oil

  1. Hi,
    I found you on Pinterest. This is probably one of my favourite recipes of all time! Soo nutritious and soo tasty. I will have to be careful not to eat the whole batch by myself. Thanks for the recipe. I think this will make a great on the go snack for my toddler!

Leave a comment