Sourdough Rye Bread with Cooked Wheat

Image

Sourdough Rye Bread with Cooked Wheat

Sourdough Rye Bread with Cooked Wheat

I don’t like spending too much time on making bread so made my rye sourdough culture work for me.

Sourdough Starter

1 tablespoon rye sourdough culture

500 g water

480 g stone ground rye flour

I mixed the ingredients and let the starter  ferment for 20 hours. In the meantime I cooked some wheat berries (I forgot to weight them) and when they cooled I refrigerated them.

In the morning, I combined the final dough ingredients in a large mixing bowl :

476 g cooked wheat

369 g water from cooking

960 g sourdough starter

750 g stone ground rye flour

377 g water

22 g salt

1 tablespoon black caraway seeds

I  covered the bowl with a dinner plate and I left it in my kitchen for 5 hours. Then I put  the fermented dough into 2 loaf pans (lined with parchment)  and after 15 minutes – I  turned on the oven to preheat it to 500 F.

I baked the loaves for 20 minutes at 480 F and for 20 minutes at 460 F. Then I removed the loaves from pans and parchment and I baked for 10 (longer loaf)-20 minutes ( wider loaf) at 400 F.

Loaf Pans: 5x9 in (left) and 4x12 (right)

Submitted to Yeastspotting.

Leave a comment