Rye Sourdough Loaves for a Week

 

 

Rye Sourdough Starter:

51 g rye sourdough culture

200 g water

200 g stone ground rye flour

Wheat Sourdough Starter:

100 g wheat sourdough culture

200 g water

200 g whole wheat flour

Both starters were fermented for 12 hours.

Final Dough:

380 g rye sourdough starter

410 whole wheat sourdough starter

1099 g water

23 g salt

1200 g stone ground rye flour

All the ingredients were mixed in a large bowl and was left to ferment for 12 hours.

In the morning I added:

200 g sunflower seeds

422 g stone ground rye flour

398 g water

 

After 5 hours I packed the dough in 3 loaf pans and let them proof for 2 hours. Than I prehated my oven to 500 F. I baked loaves for 20 minutes. Than I reduced the temperature to 450 F and I baked the loaves for 30 minutes. Then I removed the loaves from pans and I baked them directly on the baking stone for 10 minutes.

 

Leave a Reply

