Sourdough Fougasse with Prosciutto and Mozzarella

Sourdough Fougasse with Prosciutto and Mozzarella

Sourdough Starter:

50 g rye sourdough culture (taken from the fridge)

200 g water

200 g stone ground rye flour

I let starter ferment  from 2:50 PM to 8:50 AM.

Dough:

153 g rye sourdough starter

623 g water

903 g whole wheat flour

16 g salt

I  kneaded the dough  and let it ferment in a large bowl (covered) from 9:30 AM to 4 :30 PM.

Then I added:

227 g Prosciutto Panino (Prosciutto rolled in Mozzarella cheese), chopped

277 g water

297 g whole wheat flour

I kneaded the dough and left it in the bowl for 90 minutes.

I divided the dough in 2 pieces and then I shaped them into 2 balls and let them rest for 10 minutes. I put each pieces on the pizza peels lined with parchment paper. I flattened and rolled out with a rolling pin and cut the dough to  give the bread a leaf look. I also separated the slits with my fingers to make long holes. I let the breads proof for  1 hour (covered with dish towels). In the meantime I preheated my oven to 500F. I loaded the breads in the oven  and  they were baked  on two baking stones ( one situated in the middle , another at the bottom oven rack)  for 15 minutes.

Submitted to Yeastspotting andBYOB 125 x 125

Leave a Reply

