Whole Wheat Sourdough Pita Breads with Sesame Seeds

Whole Wheat Sourdough Pita Breads

500 g rye sourdough starter (100% hydration)

1100 g water

1611 g whole wheat flour

28 g sesame seeds

33 g black sesame seeds

33 g salt

I combined all of the ingredients and I kneaded the dough very carefully.  I left the dough (covered, at room temperature) to proof from 9AM to 3PM.

Dough fully proofed

I kneaded the dough and I left it for 30 minutes.

Then I turned on an oven with two baking stone inside ( one on a middle and  second on a bottom rack) to preheat it to 500 F.

I divided the dough and I shaped it into 25 balls (130-140 g each):

Dough shaped into balls(15)

10 balls of dough

When the oven was ready I turned it to high broil. I rolled out  the 3-5 balls into flat breads ( they shouldn’t be thin) and I baked them on the stone

(bottom rack ) for 7 minutes.  After removing each batch of breads I was rolling the next pitas; these 3-4 minutes  gave the oven the chance to get heated to max again (it is necessary to achieve nicely puffed pitas).

Submitted to Yeastspotting.

2 thoughts on “Whole Wheat Sourdough Pita Breads with Sesame Seeds

  1. Great job! I will definitely have to try making my own pita! I just made my own tortillas for the first time and they turned out fantastic. I can’t wait to try this recipe, too!

  2. Pingback: Tuna Salad « Just You and I: Happiness-Love-Food

Leave a Reply

