Sourdough Heart for Our Third Wedding Anniversary

3 years ago…http://przytulankaneo.wordpress.com/weeding-and-honeymoon/

Sourdough Starter (fermented from 7PM to 8PM)

107 g water

37 g whole wheat sourdough culture

103 g whole wheat flour

Soaker:

602 g whole wheat flour

610 g hot water

In a large mixing bowl I combined the ingredient using a wooden spoon. I left it covered for 1 hour to cool. Then I mixed the soaker with my hand. I left it for 12 hours.

Final dough: (this dough would be also good to make sourdough pretzels or bagels)

190 g sourdough starter

all of the soaker

18 g salt

344 g stone ground rye flour

I kneaded the dough and I left it for 2 hours. Then I added

60 g  unsweetened coconut

and I worked it through the dough.

I left the dough to ferment for another 8 hours and than I covered it tightly and I put it to refrigerator for 12 hours.

In the morning I removed the dough from refrigerator and I let it sit at room temperature for 1 hour.

Then I divided the dough into 10 pieces (170 g ea).

Piece of Final Dough

I rolled them into very thick sticks.

Then rolled them once more to make them 3 times longer than previous one.

And finally I rolled the sticks as thin as my fingers and I started shaping  a heart from them.

I let the shaped bread  proof for 2 hours and then I preheated the oven to 500F.

Proofed Bread

I baked for 20 minutes at 480F.

Submitted to Yeastspotting.

 

One thought on “Sourdough Heart for Our Third Wedding Anniversary

  1. Pingback: Our Third Wedding Anniversary « Just You and I: Happiness-Love-Food

Leave a Reply

