Milk Wheat Sourdough with Prunes

Milk Wheat Sourdough with Prunes

Final Dough:

135 g active rye sourdough starter (100% hydration)

200 g active whole wheat sourdough starter (100% hydration)

800 g milk, fat free

1000 g whole wheat flour

In a large mixing bowl I kneaded the dough and left it for 20 minutes. Then I added 23 g salt and I kneaded the dough again. I left the dough for 1 hour and I gave them a few stretches and folds. I repeated the procedure after the second hour of proofing. Then I let it proof at room temperature for 6 hours. I flattened the dough and stuffed it with about 20 prunes.

I shaped a loaf and put into a proofing basket (actually I used a  large strainer lined with a cloth) and refrigerated the loaf for overnight retarding. In the morning (9 hours later) I removed the loaf and I let it sit for 1 hour at room temperature and then I preheated my oven to 500F

I baked the loaf: for 20 minutes at 480 F, for 20 minutes at 450 F and for 20 minutes at 400F.

 

Milk Wheat Sourdough with Prunes

Submitted to Yeastspotting.

Leave a Reply

