Whole Wheat and Spelt Sourdough Loaves with Hazelnuts

Whole Wheat and Spelt Sourdough Loaves with Hazelnuts

Small Loaf

Large Loaf

Sourdough starter:

1 tablespoon whole wheat sourdough culture

200 g water

120 g whole wheat flour

I let it ferment  for 6 hours . Then I added:

200 g water

340 g whole spelt flour

and I left it for another 8 hours.

Final dough:

800 g sourdough starter:

1115 g whole wheat flour

700 g water

I combined the ingredients and left them for 30 mintutes.

In the meantime I soaked 250 g hazelnuts in hot water for 30 minutes.

Then I mixed in :

the drained hazelnuts

and 23 g salt.

I left the dough for 30 minutes and then I gave it a few stretches and folds. Then I left the dough for  another 30 minutes and then I gave it a few stretches and folds again. Then I repeated the procedure once more and I put the dough (covered tightly to my refrigerator). Five hours later I removed the dough from refrigerator, shaped loaves and put them into proofing baskets.  I turn the oven on to preheat to 500F with a baking stone and a pan with 4 cups of water (to steam the oven). *I baked the loaves:

for 20 minutes at 480 F

for 20 minutes at 450 F

for extra 20 minutes (large, oval loaf only) at 400F.

About my steaming method:

I’ve tried many ways of producing heavy stem in my oven. But all of them was not safe. Spraying the water resulted with  two explosions of  the bulb. I have burnt my hands a few time pouring hot water into a pan inside the  preheated oven.

At the bottom of the oven I put the pan and pour 4 cups of tap water. Then I turn the oven on and let it heat to 500F. During the preheating the water slowly evaporates  and turns into  steam. Then I put a loaf into the oven and I let the stem work. I usually don’t reduce the temperature of the oven for the first 20 minutes of baking . I believe it is a key factor to get good oven spring and a  beautifully shaped loaf.

Submitted to Yeastspotting.

Leave a Reply

